My Second Home

Aside from your home country? Which country do you consider as your second home?

Vietnam is my second home.

Ban Gioc Waterfall, Cao Bang Vietnam

Before coming here. I didn’t know much about this country. I didn’t even know that the Philippines and Vietnam are neighbors. Some of my friends and relatives told me that it’s not a safe country because of what they heard about the Vietnam war.

I was so surprised when I finally landed here. It looks like the Philippines (traffic and the people).

Trivia: Do you know that Ban Gioc Falls is a collective name for two waterfalls on the Quây Sơn River that straddle the international border between China and Vietnam; more specifically located between the Karst hills of Daxin County, Guangxi, and Trùng Khánh District, Cao Bằng Province.

Why do I love this country?

  1. People.

Vietnamese are friendly people. I’m not saying all but most of the people I encountered here are friendly. I also encountered rude people but still, that doesn’t stop me from describing Vietnamese people as friendly. I had this experience when I was traveling in Ha Giang, it was a lunar holiday and most stores were closed. I was so hungry and there was an open store but they were not selling food. I asked them if I could buy food for my dinner (tried to speak with them in Vietnamese) good thing the couple understood and they allow me to eat dinner with them for free. I can’t forget that day. That experience gives me a reason to love this country.

Some ethnic minority groups in Vietnam

2. Nature.

Talking about nature? They have it. Vietnam has a lot to offer from the North to the South. I’ve been to some of the beautiful places here in Vietnam (not yet done exploring this country). If you love nature, then you will definitely love this country. Working abroad is an awesome way to immerse yourself in another culture. Work while exploring beautiful places in Vietnam? Why not? It also gives you the chance to make friends with locals.

 

If you are tired from working long hours then take a short weekend trips to places nearby.

 

Sharing with you some of my pictures as I explore beautiful places in this country.

3. Cost of living.

– Living here in Vietnam don’t cost you a lot. You just need to go to the market and you can buy cheap vegetables, fruits and a lot more.

By the way, photos are not mine. Credits to the owner.

4. Food.

– Vietnam is known for Pho. If you’re a food lover then, Vietnam can offer that too. Bun Cha, Bun Dau Mam Tom, Nem, Banh My, and Banh Goi are some of my Vietnamese favorite food.

The first day I arrived in Vietnam, I felt at home already. My plan was to stay here for just 2 years and now, I have been living here for more than 5 years and don’t have the plans to go back to the Philippines for good yet.

I found friends here that I can call family, community and even experienced their culture. I’m forever grateful for this country. This country has taught me a lot and always had a special place in my heart. I’m so excited about discovering the culture and beautiful places here in Vietnam.


By the way, shout to my Vietnamese best friend Jamie. Please check his website. It’s all about traveling and motivational blog. https://jamieonceworldpress.wordpress.com/ . Thank you 🙂

THANK YOU VIETNAM.

Leave a comment