My First Solo Travel

Travel is the best therapy. It makes you less angry and more open-minded. Traveling makes you step out of your comfort zone especially traveling alone. Since I started traveling, I want to experience traveling solo. I saw a lot of vlogs that traveling by yourself make you a better person.

It was January 2020 before the pandemic happened, I was able to unlock one of my bucket lists which is to travel alone. I’ve been to three countries. I was scared and anxious but at the same time excited. This is it! Here are the three countries I visited.

  1. Taiwan

Taiwan isn’t on my bucket list. But, when the country announced that the Philippine passport holder did no need visa, then I should visit Taiwan.

Taiwan is such a beautiful country. Clean and very organize. I stayed there for 4 days and 3 nights. I was able to explore Taipei and the countryside. I went to Snow Mountain through a travel agency. Coming from a tropical country, I really want to experience snow. However, the snow melted already but still, I was able to see some ice on the mountain ^-^ and the good thing, I met Filipino travelers and became friends with them.

I also met a Filipino couple on the second day of my trip, and during lunch, they treat me. They were worried because I was traveling alone. Such a sweet couple. Indeed, you will meet some great people along the way. It was an amazing trip! I will surely comeback Taiwan 😉 

2. Singapore

I’ve been to most of the ASEAN countries but have never been to Singapore. I was so amazed when I get there, how organized the country is, especially when it comes to transportation.

I took a train from the airport to Little India where I booked my hostel. As I get there, the ambiance of the place was like you were in India. Then I tried my first ever Indian food (not bad).

People are very disciplined. I was able to explore Gardens By The Bay. When I was there, the feeling was surreal. I was just, watching vlogs and posters about Singapore, and now, I am here. That feeling? 😀 Then, I went to Merlion Park, and of course, grab the chance to take the signature pose of the Merlion. And lastly, I went to Universal Park but didn’t stay much longer. I was astonished by the beauty of Singapore.

If you want to buy some souvenirs, you should go to China Town. You can buy a lot for a reasonable price.
Many people said that Singapore is expensive, but for me? Not really. Here’s my tip. Book a hostel through booking.com and find the cheapest one (I don’t mind staying in a shared room as long as I have a place to stay) Then, don’t spend too much on your first and second day. If you still have enough budget on your last day, then try to experience fancy things, like eat in a fancy restaurant, buy some souvenirs and just enjoy the last day of your trip.

3. Malaysia

It’s my second time in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. But, my first time traveling solo and by bus. Yes, I went there by bus from Singapore. The excitement was still there since I’m going to explore the city by myself. I stayed there for 3 days and 2 nights. I went to Batu Caves and Petronas Twin Towers. Traveling to Malaysia doesn’t cost you a lot. I met travelers in the hostel and, I just hang out with them. The best part of traveling is meeting new people from different parts of the world.
Since Malaysia was my last country to visit, I just want to relax and enjoy my own company.

This solo trip taught me to be happy in my own company. I learned a lot from this trip, from reading a map, budgeting your money, and connecting to locals. It made me grow as a person and become very independent.

If you want to experience traveling solo, do it now! You will surely not regret it. As the saying says, “You Only Live Once” Enjoy your life. It’s all that matters. Go out of your comfort zone.

By the way, I was able to vlog my trip to Taiwan. Feel free to watch the video. Thank you 🙂

 

Leave a comment